[First Impressions] Demon Girl Ep. 1-6

1

Got some free time this week-end so decided to write more posts. xD Let’s jump into.. Yumama’s big comeback! Not a big comeback in the sense that it is great and beautiful and everyone will love it, but big comeback because this is SO Yu Zheng produced on each frame that I have flashbacks from all kind of his previous projects while watching it. Let’s get into this first impression of Demon Girl starring Li Yitong and Zhang Zhehan.

The start

16

The drama starts off full force with tone of nonsense. As we start off the drama, we see a town been invaded by soldiers/policemen who are killing off the villagers. The little family made of Ying Die (Ady An), her husband and two daughters are runing away from the danger. However, Ying Die can’t keep looking at all the people doing evil and hence decided to stay behind and fight them. She transforms into her demon form (with wings) and start killing off the soldiers. Of course, the soldiers keep coming and she cannot deal with them all. She is killed by a gunshot and dies. Interestingly, a young man who was still not dead by that point saw her real form… He is actually a crazy researcher and this is the point in his life he decided to chase after monsters for the rest of his life.

So at this point, you may wonder, why the hell did her character decided to stay behind to fight? She just lost her life for nothing and endangered her race to a crazy scientist. The only good point by now is that the scenaries are gorgeous and every scene is extremly pleasant to the eyes. Classic Yu Zheng.

Now without a mother, the husband/father moves in with his daughters in a BEAUTIFUL and SPACIOUS house even though they are super poor. Nonesense again, but oh well. From this point on, it is time for Nie Qing Cheng (Li Yitong) to be all sassy as she supports her family financially and falls in love with the local police force chef, Ming Xia (Zhang Zhehan).

Li Yitong as Nie Qing Cheng

142

Li Yitong is a pretty actress and I am full ready to love her. She is going to play my little Huang Rong in upcoming Legend of the Condor Heroes adaptation, so I needed to check out her acting here. The first thing that comes to my mind is that she has such a pretty and white tone. I am in awe each time she appears on screen. Added to the pastel tone of the drama, she just looks effortless gorgeous. She also have a few dancing scenes that she executed extremly well. Exactly what I look for in a female lead. I do want to point out I believe she did plastic surgery though. Not because I want to be mean, but I think her chin looks unnatural.

Acting wise, she is perfect for this role (and probably for Huang Rong too if anyone is curious). Her character is cute and a hot tempered, but still doesn’t sound annoying. She is obviously not afraid to say her point of view on everything. She is smart and use that smartness to her advantage. Even if she is poor, she doesn’t want to feel inferior. She lives proud of who she is. She helps other and even if she is gullible (to her mother-in-law’s evil plans), I wish her a beautiful romance with Ming Xia. So far, not much is shown of her demon powers, but I am sure when it happens, she will be able to take full controle over her life.

Zhang Zhehan as Ming Xia

174 9

In my opinion, Zhang Zhehan always had the pretty, but boring character (I am thinking of Beauty Maker, Legend of Banshu and Return of the Condor Heroes). Here, his character is the same: a rich guy who wants to do good and chose to become a chief policeman. He falls in love with Qing Cheng and wants to protect her as much as he can. He however does not notice the evil plans of his mother either until it is too late. What makes me like him here is his romance with Qing Cheng. He smiles is really pretty when he looks at her, which honestly reminds me a bit of Chen Xiao 😛 I loved how cool and composed he is, how he fell in love with Qing Cheng naturally. He is pursuing her full force without using low tactics and their dancing scenes are sooo cute! You can see his character’s love for Qing Cheng and that makes me want to root for him.

Mi Re as You Tong

15 185

Ohhh Mi Re. Cute cute cute Mi Re. When I watched Beauty Maker, he left me an extremly positive impression, the same impression I felt when I watched Ma Ke’s Sha Jiejie in Hua Qian Gu. In Beauty Maker, he played the right hand man of Wu Zetian, a guy who loves beauty and compliments the empress often. His character did have a twist at the end where *spoiler* he was actually plotting to kill Wu Zetian. All in all, he was very lovable in that role so I was ready to love him again in this drama. However, here, he plays an arrogant demon who never experimented love. He sees the nice side of Nie Qing Cheng and decided to follow her around, persuaded he is loving her. I understand his need for affection, but he was causing death wherever he go. For a demon who first wanted to kill bad guys, it feels like he is going in the wrong direction now. Plus, he is trying to run my OTP so I am not very satisfied with the say character. 😛 Hope the character will have more development or else, it is going to be very dull…

Drama as a whole:

The drama is visually one of the most pleasant drama I have seen in recent years. The colors are so easy to the eyes and each shot is like art. I am no expert, but I think they are playing with the lighting and the distance of each frame, the objects inside the frame, etc. Hence, we come out with a visually nearly flawless drama. I wouldn’t expect less from Yu Zheng because he is so good at making his dramas look good, even if it makes no sense (remember the cherry pedal frame each time the leads meet?). By putting so much effort in details, I can say it is a successful transition from period drama to republican/modern drama.

However, always in the classy Yu Zheng style, we are back with the controlling mother-in-law and the mean/plotting second female lead. As I was watching this, it strangely reminds me of his other drama Tian Di Bu Rong (which fyi starred Feng Shaofeng and Ady An). The poor girl suffering through many troubles, finding love that can bring her the upper class life style, but ending up being bullied by the mother-in-law. As I watched already too many of these dramas, I know the best is at the beginning and at the end. The middle is full of plot fillers that can make the viewer eager, but feeling empty (did anything interesting happen?). I like the lead couple and I am curious to see how the demon power will take more place as we go on. However, I feel like waiting for all the episodes to get released. Then, I can watch freely with no worries of wanting to see the ending or deciding to stop.

–end–

TL;DR: Good drama, maybe not the worth the time for most people. Will keep watching for curiosity purpose when all the episodes will be out, but as I know Yu Zheng way too well now, I can already see how the drama will develop until the end…

23 thoughts on “[First Impressions] Demon Girl Ep. 1-6

  1. Paige says:

    It’s not just you, a lot of comments on Weibo said that she had pretty extensive plastic surgery.. her acting isn’t convincing enough for me yet but she’s still young and will improve hopefully

    Like

    • Yeah.. I normally don’t mention it, but here, it is really obvious. Good thing is that it is not always awkward and on some shot, she is breathtaking!
      Hopefully, she seems like one of the leading new generation of actresses, so I am happy I like her so far 😛

      Like

  2. I watched first episode and my impression was quiet the same. It was episodes absolutely not intrigues. I thought they must put accent on her awaking but they pushed romantic line which was I think too fast for first episode. It seems boring and lack of dynamics.

    Like

    • Nope not at all, I nearly forgot the magical side of the drama until the appearance of Mi Re’s character. It is a very unoriginal drama, but I may still check it until I find a better drama to waste time on!

      Like

  3. Jo says:

    Not going to lie, Im only watching to see Ady(Im totally bias) but the cinematography is GORGEOUS! Love how the lead is so strong except when it comes to her mother in law(understandable) love the chem with the otp, strong but subtle. Agree, ZZ plays pretty but boring characters but I stkll like his smile. And also there are so many illogical things in the drama that sometimes it turns ns you off but I still watch hahaha

    Like

  4. I like this drama and I don’t know why. I especially like the people killing, socially retarded You Tong. He is like a newly hatch duckling looking for a mother. So twistedly adorable. If Nie Qing Cheng didn’t turn full on evil herself then there is a good chance she can reform him, or at least make him a socially acceptable psychopath. As for the vanilla police chief with a judgmental mother, unless he gets a personality transplant I don’t see a future for him and Qing Cheng. And I do look forward to how he adjust to Qing Cheng’s transformation. As for the crazy scientist and his arrogant daughter, please, just make them go away. If You Tong can get rid of them, even better.

    Like

    • j says:

      Likes: The visuals are quite pleasant. The opening OST singer’s voice is much nicer than many other Yu Zheng productions. Ditto for the melody.
      I mostly watch some of the fluff scenes and ff through the rest.

      Strong dislikes: The actor who plays Qing Cheng’s dad, the actor who plays the “crazy” doctor, obsessed with demons.

      Other dislikes: The make up on several actors looks very thick. Especially the foundation. It makes several actors look like they are in Chinese opera. And several dislikes mentioned above. The plot progression is slow.
      Mostly I hope the actors can gain some additional acting experience from this series and hopefully prepare them well for their future projects.

      Like

      • Oh forgot to mention it. Definitely, that opening OST is really thoughtful and well done. Nice touch!
        The so-typical-crazy-scientist is reallyyy anoying to me. Hope he is gone for good, but I fear he may reappear.. it is too early for him to die!
        Yes! That white color on Qing Cheng’s face. It is really pretty, but it also feels off. I can understand the foundation for You Tong since he is a full demon, but the others.. it feels like I am watching a ghost drama haha
        I hope so too! But then again, this is not their first drama. Zhang Zhehan for example has done a lot of Yumama drama lately and I feel like he barely improved :/

        Like

      • j says:

        Archidisign, Thanks for your latest comments! Both actors seem a bit weak in acting. The saving grace for Qing C’s dad is his character is a “plot necessity”, so the writer doesn’t have to make him evil or super annoying. Another problem with the series is they put such weird costumes, wigs etc on these 2 not-so-great actors. I think irregardless of the time era, these 2 characters’ wigs, glasses etc make them look like they are in their Halloween costumes every day. Honestly, the demons look more natural than these 2. haha.. I think the body movement of QC’s dad is not matching his assigned costumes too. His body movement seems a bit too young for his character’s intended age. Maybe I FF too much and missed his good parts. lol.

        BTW, Zhang Z has a supporting role in Decoded. After a few episodes, his acting seems ok. He doesn’t have to emote too much. No thick makeup there. He doesn’t smile much there. He just participates in assigned tasks.

        Oh.. Would you and IntellectualKitty consider doing a post on a year end summary post on your favorite young newbies? This is partly bc I read another blog once, and readers there often said how come every cDrama has Tang Yan, W Huo, Zheng Shuang, or Hawick L.

        BTW, anyone knows how to figure out the current drama projects that well-known English subbing groups work on? I almost skipped Decoded. Sometimes it’s good to check out series that the major subbing groups like.

        Like

      • Haha, omg, nearly forgot about those wigs… Zhang Zhehan’s MingXia especially has one of the most ugly haircut in drama history… >< What is that? Both Qing Cheng's dad and the mad scientist looks bad: your stereoptypical characters, not very well-thought. Yeah, I try not to pay much attention to theirs characters.
        I started this drama is watchable, but after discussing with so many of you guys, I may drop this one :'D So many flaws and the story doesn't even interest me that much anymore.. I will concentrate my energy on what I like/anticipate instead!
        My favorite young newbies… hummm I feel like this year, we definitely had an increase of great coup de coeur aka new actors we learned to love! But I am still extremly selective over what I watch. I pick up stuffs that star my faves (which ends up being a lot of the usual names). I wrote a year end post last year and I will probably do another one this year. I will add a section for newbies 😉

        The well-known English subbing teams are Viki and Dramafever. If not, if the drama has a kpop idol, there is a chance an independent group may pick it up. They often go for the bigger names drama, but I believe even Viki/DramaFever subbing are based on the likings of the say subbing team. So, the best indicative would be to go on vlinkage's website (or any ranking site) to see what are the trendiest dramas of the week and hope to find eng sub from there.. (which can be disappointing because lots of projects are not picked up)

        Like

      • j says:

        Archidisign, Thanks for all your helpful replies. I haven’t gotten around to reading the Novoland post yet, but that’s great! I tried to find out some on my own before. Read a couple of Xingfenzheng’s posts elsewhere. I didn’t understand his/her posts. Another commenter said that some of the Novoland novels basically have Mary Sue plot. It’s such a broad topic covering so many novels. idk what to think. Then there are plagiarism allegations involving some of the authors. Perhaps Tangqi’s Hua Xu Yin, and 1 or more of Cang Yue’s novels. When I was just starting to read about Novoland, i read a lot of “BTS drama” already. I was afraid to continue. I don’t want to be buried by skeletons in the closet when I open the closet. lol. Thanks!!

        Congrats to you and Lizzie. I never got past ep2 in Best Get Going. I liked Zheng Kai in his series with actress Li(?) Nian once, but couldn’t take his character in BGG.

        p.s. By BTS, I meant similar to Between the Scenes stuff. Like the mild alleged drama behind Jade Dynasty with ZLY and YZ.

        Like

      • Welcome! Thanks to you for leaving comments 😉
        Xingfenzheng is the one that inspired me to write that post! 😀 Hum, I think Novoland is a really broad world. Because I never checked out the novels, I can’t speak on the genre in general. However, I do know that Novoland Castle in the Sky’s lead female character is of mary sue type. But in general, I think what connects the series are the history and the magical elements.
        Yeah, I remember the Tang Qi Gong Zi plagiarism right when the Hua Xu Yin drama was airing. Quite a deal breaker for me 😦 The story was really good and the strong point was definitely in the short stories. I watched the Jiang Xin+Yuan Hong arc in the drama and really liked it. Give it a try! I don’t think everything in Novoland will be gold, but this is definitely a concept worth trying out.
        Really? Haha, as someone who recaped BGG and really loved the drama, I don’t know what to say.. We probably have different taste when it comes to modern dramas 😉

        Like

      • DB says:

        Yes. The evidence for Tang Qi’s plagiarism for 3 Lives 3 Worlds … Peach Blossom is overwhelming. Whole scenes are copied. Book title and character names are sometimes the same or are homophones. Some readers devoted lots of time to read pairs of novels to check for plagiarism and write their findings on their blogs. Novel readers have mentioned similar troubles with other novels. People say she blames her youth for her plagiarism tendencies. But she has been known to attack people who try to plagiarize or copy some of her stuff very viciously. She herself copied a BL author.

        It’s mean to plagiarize other people’s hard work and not sharing the profit and benefits with them. There are so many authors out there that deserve support more.

        Like

    • Haha, I also wonder “why” I am not dropping this drama already…
      Qing Cheng making You Tong a better person? I wish, but I also feel like unless she decides to leave male lead, it will be hard for her to give “real time” to You Tong. Really? I think vanilla police chief is a boring description, but exactly some fans look for. Hence, he is probably not going to change too much so that he can stay the reliable element in Qing Cheng’s life.
      I think the crazy scientist dies in episode 6 (or at least he burns pretty hard). As for the daughter, yes, let her go!!

      Like

      • Are all Yu Zheng’s dramas this melodramatic? If it wasn’t for the supernatural element, I thought I was watching a soap opera. Oh maybe I am… I am disappointed the drama is drag its feet with mother-son-girlfriend-other-woman theme. It needs to move along to the part when Qing Cheng get her wings. I am tired of the soap opera.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sadly .. yes. :’D I have no excuse that can explain why I keep watching them.. xD
        It is a soap opera focused on romance, where the leads are super stupid, but the drama ends up being very addicting xD
        The mother-in-law plot line is especially Yu Zheng’s speciality 😉

        Like

  5. Lizzie says:

    Up to ep4 (subbed) – it’s pretty lite so far and just have to suspend logic while watching the pretty 🙂 kinda like Buffy or one of the many CW shows! Having said that, I can see myself persisting (unlike Liu Shan Men despite my love for detective stories) because the OTP has good chemistry until it all becomes too overwrought or ridiculous (whichever comes first!!) ZZH also looks pretty good in uniform (although hands down winner would be WC in Mystic Nine) and LYT is not annoying me! Is this her first show?

    Was wondering where I had seen QQ’s father before and he was the annoying lackey in Best Get Going to the No.2 difficult boss!

    Like

    • Never watched Buffy, but it also gives me a similar vibe. Demons and magical elements, pretty scenes and a big focus on romance! Yeah, the couple had a great start on episode one which made me stick until episode 6. I am taking a break from the drama now because I know it will go in the wrong direction for a few weeks. I will wait for the good times to come back before restarting to watch it 😛
      Haha, omg, everyone hands down for William Chan!! :DDD Dreamy dude in uniform, so obsessed with him these days.
      It is her first show (at least as female lead, didn’t check her acting history yet) and she is definitely looking great now!
      AND finally….

      …..
      …….
      ………
      WHAT? OMG!!!!!!!!
      You are so right!! HAHAHAHA That is so funny. Ok that is, I don’t like the dad anymore XD I was like he is a nice dude for caring over his daughters. But now with your comment, I flashback to all the times he made my “Song Nuan” suffer. What a jerk!!!

      Like

    • Never watched Buffy, but it also gives me a similar vibe. Demons and magical elements, pretty scenes and a big focus on romance! Yeah, the couple had a great start on episode one which made me stick until episode 6. I am taking a break from the drama now because I know it will go in the wrong direction for a few weeks. I will wait for the good times to come back before restarting to watch it 😛
      Haha, omg, everyone hands down for William Chan!! :DDD Dreamy dude in uniform, so obsessed with him these days.
      It is her first show (at least as female lead, didn’t check her acting history yet) and she is definitely looking great now!
      AND finally….

      …..
      …….
      ………
      WHAT? OMG!!!!!!!!
      You are so right!! HAHAHAHA That is so funny. Ok that is, I don’t like the dad anymore XD I was like he is a nice dude for caring over his daughters. But now with your comment, I flashback to all the times he made my “Song Nuan” suffer. What a jerk!!!

      Like

    • Never watched Buffy, but it also gives me a similar vibe. Demons and magical elements, pretty scenes and a big focus on romance! Yeah, the couple had a great start on episode one which made me stick until episode 6. I am taking a break from the drama now because I know it will go in the wrong direction for a few weeks. I will wait for the good times to come back before restarting to watch it 😛
      Haha, omg, everyone hands down for William Chan!! :DDD Dreamy dude in uniform, so obsessed with him these days.
      It is her first show (at least as female lead, didn’t check her acting history yet) and she is definitely looking great now!
      AND finally….

      …..
      …….
      ………
      WHAT? OMG!!!!!!!!
      You are so right!! HAHAHAHA That is so funny. Ok that is, I don’t like the dad anymore XD I was like he is a nice dude for caring over his daughters. But now with your comment, I flashback to all the times he made my “Song Nuan” suffer. What a jerk!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

