[First Impressions] Zhu Xian The Noble Aspirations Episodes 1-6

9

How well is your week going? Since the episodes of The Mystic Nine this week weren’t exactly groundbreaking, I decided to write the Mystic Nine recap for two weeks in one shot next week. Instead, I concentrated on Zhu Xian which just started airing last week-end and is already at episode 6. The ratings are amazing so let’s check it out!

Drama information:

  • Chinese name: 诛仙青云志
  • English name: Noble Aspirations
  • Other names: Zhu Xian, Legend of Chusen, Qing Yun Zhi
  • 55 episodes of 45 minutes each
  • You can download episodes and read the first episode recap on Avirtualvoyage
  • The original novel has been translated in English (check here for links)

Drama schedule:

  • Apparently, there will be 6 episodes THIS week and back to 4 next week.
  • Hunan TV – 2 episodes every Sunday
    Mango TV – 1 episode Monday-Thursday

We decided to write this review based on the actors’ performances, how they portrayed their respective roles. Here is our “list” review. The order is based on when the characters/actors appeared.

(note: Intellectualkitten’s comments are mostly between brackets ^^ I am having a lot of fun watching this drama, definitely a feel good and easy going story for the summer. Also, I love Qin Chunjie so much ><)

TFBoys

9 12 18

Despite all the hype, the TFBoys are on the show for a very short period of time: less than one episode… but fear not because they will appear again in the flashbacks! This is not the boys’ first acting gig, but I still had low expectations. However, I now think they did an amazing job. Wang Yuan was playing the little Zhang Xiaofan and he was perfect for the role: cute, dummy and innocent. You can really fall for his performance and it is a great childhood introduction. Wang Junkai played his childhood friend and a martial art prodigy. I thought two things while looking at him 1) He looks so much like Luhan and 2) such perfect skin! He is playing a more gentleman and calm character who cares about his friends. All in all, both of them did a great job. By the end, I was really sad for them as their village got destroyed. (I personally prefer Wang Yuan’s personification of Zhang Xiaofan more than Li Yifeng’s, but since the drama just started, let’s hope I change my opinion :3.)

The boys working on that deadly scene. Noonas heart be ready!

1

Zhang Xiaofan’s master

26

First of all, doesn’t this teacher has a very meme face? Hehe

Introduced as arrogant and wanting to save faces (lol, isnt that another synonym for arrogant?), this teacher doesn’t like Xiaofan for many reasons: poor performing student, made him lose face in front of other teachers, etc. He first makes Xiaofan miserable, but changes his mind after tasting his great cooking. I don’t exactly want to hate on him for being a bad teacher, because there are scenes where he does care about his disciple. But, if a student cannot learn anything for five years and his self-esteem is as low as Zhang Xiaofan’s, then a part of the problem has to be the teacher. On the bright side, he did teach Xiaofan a valuable lesson when he was a child (do not let revenge blind you and only use magic for good). On the bad side, he is always hitting on Xiaofan for no reason and blaming him for everything. Yop, not the best teacher out there…

I find him funny xD And Zhang Xiaofan is such a hopeless student.. he kinda deserve the harsh treatment, especially since he doesn’t change his actions at all. But yeah… Shi Fu is totally to blame for XF’s lack of self esteem.

Li Yifeng

8 22 39

Can I call this character a good for nothing or would that be too mean? Because of the original trailer, I expected a cool emo character who would always question the way the world runs. However, here we have a good kid that cannot learn any magic and ends up being the slave of his master (aka cooking for everyone). In the five years he arrived at Qing Yun school, he still didn’t learn to fly or any of the other fighting skills. I mean, everyone learn that when they were still a kid. He gets bullied and taken advantage by others, but still thinks the world is pink. I definitely hope his naivety will disappear as we go on with the episodes. It is a good thing to help others, but why the sudden need of a monkey pet (he is secretly Ross from Friends :D). Do you not look ridiculous enough?

In episode six, he finally step up for himself against his Shi Jie (older sister of same school) by talking back to her. He also revealed he was cooking for her, which was a very sweet scene and heartbreaking moment. Love will find you one day, sweetie. ^^ (On the other hand, he seems to have his eyes on Lu Xueqi too. You are cute my boy, but you don’t deserve two girls yet :P)

Because he is the owner of a powerful weapon as well as the blood pearl, I have high hope he will achieve big things in the future (what about the fact he is the main character?). Let the prophecy do its magic, we are all rooting for you!

Some cute gifs of Li Yifeng

1 2 9 10

Tang Yixin

13 14 23

The cute and bubbly little girl grew up to become.. Tang Yixin! I liked the character at first because she was so nice to Xiaofan. She was the first one to come to Xiaofan and to become his friend. Not caring about her parents’ approval, she tried to convince her father to have him as his disciple and even teaches him martial arts as much as she can. She definitely cares about him as a precious friend. I thought: “I ship you two!”

However, the happy coupling went in the bad direction after Tang Yixin’s kidnapping and she falls in love with another Qing Yun disciple. She then becomes a lot meaner to Zhang Xiaofan: she takes away his medicine to give to her new crush, fights with him because she thinks he betrayed her and ignores his feelings. Awnn, that was so sad. (I think she is just been careless and in love? I am sure the friendship is still there! She still cares a lot about Xiaofan and is just been playful).  As I watch these moments, I flashback to what happened in the Swordsman. In similar cases, the teacher’s daughter and a Shi Jie/Mei (Yang Rong’s Yue Lingshan) falls in love with a new disciple (Chen Xiao’s Lin Pingzhi), forgetting her past romance with her disciple/childhood friend (Wallace Huo’s Linghu Chong) (haha, this is interesting! I saw an article on sina today comparing Zhu Xian with Swordman XD). I hate when my OTPs break so early in a drama, but I guess it is understandable in this case. LYF’s heart must be fought between Bi Yao and Lu Xueqi.

Tang Yixin’s short OTP moment with LYF (haha, the gif doesn’t show her, but it is still a cute scene.. < good job girl xD …I can feel the love)

4

Zhao Liying

30 32 33 35 36 39

You know I love everything Zhao Liying does and here, there is no exception. She is once again a spoiled (not spoiled, more like independent and a little snob?) girl, but this time on the dark side. She is from a demon family, although not the highest ranked and wants to revenge her mother. Because Zhang Xiaofan saved her when she was a kid, she will fall in love with him. I like her acting scenes as well as her sassy attitude scene. The character so far is pretty cool and I am curious to see her blooming romance with Li Yifeng. She already came to save him multiple times and although they are from different side of the magical world (bad vs good), I can still feel like a strong relationship is starting. Because I know her character is doomed to coma by the half of the drama, I don’t know if there will be any chances for her character to develop more (it is Zhao Liying! I am sure they will give her more plot!!).

Me too, I love Bi Yao! She lights up the scene each time she appears and is one of the funniest character! At first, I thought the bangs would look good but I realize it makes her look old :”D …Sincerely hope there is no more scene with bangs. Also, I can see Xiaofan and Bi Yao developing feelings for each other 😀

Gifs of the beautiful and sassy Bi Yao

4 6 7 8

Yang Zi

5 27 28 29

Yang Zi’s moment with Qin Junjie ^^

7c42726d633aad63640f2f23fdc1583da

Lu Xueqi as a character is a serious let down. I still like Yang Zi and if I didn’t know she has amazing acting skills, I would find her a pretty boring actress based on this drama alone. Lu Xueqi is supposed to be a cold person who actually cares about others and fall in love with the male lead. So far, I have seen zero interaction between her and Zhang Xiaofan. Instead, she passes most of her time accompanied by Qin Junjie’s character. She is always extremly rude to him and his romantic gestures (she is supposed to be cold :”D and if Junjie didnt have such a beautiful puppy face, I would find him annoying too :”D). She always has a long face and brings out her sword ready to kill him for any wrongly words he may say. That is cold. I hope it is the writers playing with the plot, because I can’t imagine our supposed female lead to be so impatient, rude and.. far from the male lead. If you told me she was the second female lead and will become a couple with Qin Junjie, I will have a higher chance to believe you. Honestly also wishing for more character development for her too!

My puppy is the cutest thing ever ^^ I agree with you, I hope she ends up with Shu Shu and they make beautiful babies. On the other hand. me neither, I don’t buy the whole goddess personification that everyone was looking forward to … my main reasons been Yang Zi is not that tall (sorry) and she lacks the class of LXQ. Isn’t she supposed to be confident and strong? Instead, she feels cold and arrogant. But since there haven’t been any character development so far, I can’t say Yang Zi’s acting is bad. All in all, she still have 50 episodes to prove herself ^^

Final Words

All in all, I am really liking the drama. The art is extremely pleasant and the CGI is so well done I am in awe at each scenery in xianxia land. The acting is in general well done, the story goes smoothly and nothing feels especially annoying.

I have to complain on a few points though. The first is how, at every fighting scene, the characters just faint down on the ground while all the actions happen (Wang Junkai, Li Yifeng, Tang Yixin’s characters all faint so easily).  Aren’t you guys a bit too weak? Another problem is that the drama feels like it moves too fast. By episode one, the childhood ended. By episode two, all the characters were introduced. By episode 4 or 5, everyone meets everyone and has a fun trip in the mountain. It is a good thing that the plot is moving fast, but I feel like we don’t exactly have a main mission right now. No sword to find, no master to fall in love with, just the daily life of Qing Yun students. It is a fun watch, but not having a specific goal worries me a bit. And no, I am not watching to just see Bi Yao fall in a coma. There must be something else!

56 thoughts on “[First Impressions] Zhu Xian The Noble Aspirations Episodes 1-6

  1. Hannah says:

    The plot is captivating me thus far. However, the acting is more of a let down.

    LYF – I honestly don’t know what is the hype about him. His character is the typical good-turned-bad because of the circumstances. Ok, I can tolerate that, but LYF’s acting isn’t very convincing. I get that he’s carefree in his early years, but I’m seeing a blank face all the time. It’s a huge role, and you can either make it or break it. He’s definitely an idol actor.

    YZ – She’s beautiful, but not the ice cold type of beauty. Her character is another XLN, which was well-portrayed by Carman Lee. YZ lacks that ice cold aura. Maybe it’s her baby face, but I thought she looked upset and not cold.

    ZLY – Whoa…what an entrance in episode 4, but the bangs must go lol BY’s no fear attitude reminds me of her character in LoZ. It’s really not a challenge for ZLY.

    The supporting cast is strong. Love the costumes and sceneries.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hannah says:

      Also, the disciple of ZXF’s childhood friend is the one who murdered their whole village. He’s after the red ball, but I wonder what for? Hmm

      Like

      • Disciple of ZXF’s childhood friend? I thought the person who destroyed the village was the dude wearing black and hiding his face, the one who tried to kill ZXF’s “uncle”. The red ball reminds me of The Lord of the Ring xD

        Like

      • maoh says:

        His teacher, right? I thought he was the masked guy since the first episode when they came into the hall and he picked Xiaofan’s friend as his disciple. Then in the following episodes they have been foreshadowing this with clues here and there. Like when Xiaofan’s friend told his teacher that Xiaofan would eventually remember then Xiaofan got attacked, etc.

        Like

      • Hannah says:

        ^ Oops…I meant the teacher of ZXF’s childhood friend lol

        Yes. The drama is foreshadowing that the teacher is also the masked man.

        Like

      • OMG, you girls are coming up with such a good hypothesis. I would love it if it is true cause that sounds interesting! Please give this drama a lot of twist 3:)

        Like

      • Hannah says:

        ^ I suppose it would be too obvious if ZXF disappears in the hands of the masked man/teacher.

        I’m predicting the teacher is also the masked man because the masked man knows his way around the sect. Too much of a coincidence!

        Everyone is after the Red Ball for power. Same thing how HQG unintentionally got the ultimate power.

        Like

      • True dat.. Especially considering how he never appears during the scenes of the masked man. This is too bad because I thought he was quite a good teacher :/ Haha, everyone can fight all they want, but we all know the MC will get all the cool powers and skills (soon). hehe

        Like

      • maoh says:

        I think he picked ZXF’s friend bc he has potential and would help him get close to ZXF. I also think would be weird if he got ZXF as his own student and then he died mysteriously. The big hint to me was when he kept asking if ZXF remembered anything. ZXF’s told him he didn’t but that eveNtually he would remember, so ZXF got attacked in the next scene. He just looks so suspicious all the time, I would be surprised if he wasn’t the masked man.

        Like

    • Hannah says:

      The senior sis is also doing very well! What a contrast from her role in Prime Minister.

      It’s cute how each character has their signature color lol

      Like

      • tiffy123 says:

        OMG I just realized that the senior sister is crazy thirsty Maid Ah Bi from Female Prime Minister! I was wondering why she looked familiar! haha the male lead is in love with Ah Bi first this time, and Lu Zhen is gonna steal him away! Before she dies of course.

        Like

    • I have a similar feeling. The acting is obviously not groundbreaking either, but the ensemble of this drama (cast, costume, CGI, acting) is just captivating. I am still watching and I want to continue… I realized that me neither, I didn’t watch many of LYF’s role. I think he did well in Ancient Sword, but he feels a bit awkward here as the dummy ZXF xD Ohh, the comparison to XLN is so accurate. Maybe that’s why I am so harsh to Yang Zi’s depiction of the role? I remember being really mad at the casting of Michelle Chen for the XLN role years ago.. Not every actresses, as talented as they may be, can play such a character well on screen. Haha, I know. When Liying arrived, it was like, the savior is her! Pretty and fitting. Not her most challenging role, but she is doing a good job. This will not change her career around like how Hua Qian Gu did for her last year.

      Like

  2. Jo says:

    I was planning to watch after Mystic Nine ended but seeing how the last four ep were meh*why are they still the cave!!* I might start watching this and as much as I love LYF face, reading comments and seeings his face makes me feel like he’s probably not excelling at the role but Ill have to watch and see and I LOVED the gif entrance of cutie pie, ZLY so Ill tune in for her and also for my forever archenemies Ah Bi!!!😂😂

    Like

    • same feeling!! I still like Mystic Nine more than this one, but it is at the low point of the drama. They are leaving the cave next week though!! 😀 And Liying will probably appear a lot more (her father will be in town). Hopefully we get the marriage proposal soon ><
      Haha, his acting may fit your fangirl eyes though! 😉 He is not as bad as it sounds, but for now, it is quite a boring character. Not lead worthy. You are going to be happy then because both "Lu Zhen" and "Ah Bi" are really convincing in this drama.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jo says:

        THANK GOODNESS! As much as I love all that cave bonding, Im over it-they need to start fighting the baddies, Otp NEEDS more moments and YES, bring on the proposal scene please!!
        Oh, hahahaI can get over the boring part if Lu Zhen and Ah Bi are convincing 😂😂 as long as they are being amazing I’ll watch it☺

        Like

      • Haha, yes! I can’t wait for the moment he kicks Chen Pi and that lady out of the Mystic Nine team and just plain kick the ass of that Japanese dude and the captain Lu!!
        Ohh.. but they are not AMAZING.. They are like as good as they can be? So far, I find the Zhu Xian characters all a bit 2D. Didn’t hear any deep angsty statements the same way Hua Qian Gu did 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jo says:

        Yes!!! Especially the Japanese representative! Uggh that guy gets on my nerves, Ill have to watch and see and Hua Qian Gu is on another level of angst

        Like

  3. keekeepod says:

    Cdramas can be slow and draggy. This one’s pacing is better, although there are still sections I know I could skip without missing any important info.

    I don’t think Zhang Xiaofan is dumb so much as the magic/power that was given to him is fighting with what he is trying to learn/acquire.

    Liked by 1 person

    • omg, maybe you are right. I got destroyed by slow introduction in cdramaland that this pace feels irregular to me xD
      That is a theory ikitten thought so too, that the pearl is what prevent his learning. Hopefully because I need a badass lead!

      Like

  4. xingfenzhen says:

    I fell Lu Xueqi’s character would be better served by Liu Yifei, since she’s natural give out a cold demeanour. However, this would almost the the same role of Xiao longnv in The Return of the Condor Heroes, I doubt she would want this typecast again. Also I think she doesn’t do dramas anymore, which is a loss really. Since pretty much none of her movies has being particularly popular or memorable (hopefully 3L3W will break this trend), but her performance in Chinese Paladin, The Return of the Condor Heroes, Demi-Gods and Semi-Devils and even the brief role in Story of a Noble Family are both memorable and now considered classics.

    Like

      • intellectualkitten says:

        I disagree, I was always excited to see her on screen in Tian Long Ba Bu and she made me cry in Chinese Paladin 1 more than once. LYF was very memorable in her drama roles. However, her movies are indeed boring (For Love or Money was good, Third Way to Love was interesting but in both cases her character lacked color… at the same time, there is something oppressing and sad about Chinese romantic movies)~

        Like

      • Hannah says:

        I may be the odd one lol I saw her dramas, but not a lot of range in her acting. So I believe it was more of her roles.

        Like

    • Since other people are making a comparison between Lu Xueqi and Xiao Longnu, I have to agree that LYF is perfect for such roles. She looks amazingly pretty and her cold side still brings me to awe each time. It is a shame that her movies aren’t doing well, but I am sure 3L3W will be VERY good. On the Lu Xueqi casting, I think there are a lot of fitting actresses for this role except LYF (I am thinking of Song Yi for example).

      Like

  5. xiaoxing says:

    yaay I found another one *again* who like Qin Junjie 😛 firstly I slowly interested in Him when I watched Legend Of Qin, and when I watched Qing Yun Zhi, I like Him even more ^^
    one of the reason I still follow this series is because of Qin JunJie and of course his character ShuShu *my favorite character so far* he is so funny and really a happy go lucky person, idk what will happen about his relationship with XueQi because I don’t read the novel, but I do really hope they can be a couple here *LoL 😛

    I like Li YiFeng too, but my impression of his character for now after watched till 6th episode is I don’t really like his character *sorry*, XiaoFan seem less lost, cannot speak his mind *meh*, and always receive a scolding from his teacher who don’t even make sense, I don’t know later, still watching..let’s see 🙂

    Like

    • ikitten is so in love with him too! xD
      I watched him in Prince of Tennis (cdrama version) and here, I am like “what did you do to my Long Ma?” xD He grew up well! Although I doubt it will happen, I am shipping him with Lu Xueqi too. They could make one hell of a great couple if it does happen. Btw, Qin Junjie and Yang Zi did another drama together this year (Legend of the Dragon Pearl) if you want to check that out when it gets released. ^^
      Yop, let’s see and hope Xiaofan grows up into a man we can all stand behind!

      Like

      • xiaoxing says:

        Oh yes Legend of the Dragon Pearl, I already read the news too..I’m looking forward to it..hope the best for him 🙂 and the best part is, He and YangZi will definitely be a couple there ^^

        Like

    • intellectualkitten says:

      Yes 😀 Qin Junjie is a cute puppy who still manage to look cool and handsome 🙂 His acting skills are pretty good too! Each time I read an article about him, it talks about Yang Zi more, which makes me a little sad. Hope he steals the spotlight soon ^^
      Li Yifeng looks very clumsy and 2-dimension, despite having the most scenes. So far, I am not impressed, but as you say, his character will definitely change through out the drama

      Like

      • xiaoxing says:

        Yes! I agree with you..I think Junjie acting skill are pretty good, his expression definitely not bland, he can do cute expression too..hope his skill will grow more in the future so he can steal the spotlight more fast *Lol 😛
        I will wait for LYF character to be change through out the drama, hope better do it fast *Lol..because for me his character quite boring for now 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Maymay says:

    Zly with bangs are poorly done here. I thought she looked cute with bangs in mystic nine. Here i know they are fake bangs which make it look unnatural and not so flattering.

    I also feel LYF is a little bland here …and YZ didn’t have much to do. But seriously all the close up shots are…misleading? Not sure if I am suppose to feel that they are chemistry between them when they hardly interact at all…

    Like

    • LOL, was I the only one who don’t mind it that much? Maybe because I don’t pay much attention to haircuts in general… She looks cute, but it is true that this one does not fit her as well as in The Mystic Nine.
      Misleading is the word! I don’t understand whey everytime something happens, we need a close shot of LYF and YZ looking blandly. I mean, we already know they are the leads and these reactions are not flowing well with the drama. Why you doing this, producer? I am all for chemistry between the leads, but make them speak to each other first!

      Like

  7. tokkita says:

    The TFBoys surprised me because I pretty much had zero expectations (sorry haha). Actually would have liked to see more of them before the time skip towards the ep of 2.

    LYF – his acting is awkward at times and Xiao Fan has a lot of maturing to go through before he becomes someone that I can really root for. Can’t help but feel sorry for him though, he really just needs more confidence. I am still hopeful for LYF’s acting later on in the series, because of the trailer which showed him as an anti-hero.

    Yang Zi – she’s a really good actress (everyone needs to watch Battle of Changsha!) but in her role as Xue Qi, she seems arrogant/angry rather than an ice beauty :/ Her character needs more development (what are her thoughts and motivations??)

    ZLY – yeah I agree, those bangs are not flattering on her. I like her character and am keen to see more of her.

    TYX – I have a soft spot for the hero x shimei pairings (well shijie in this case), though they never seem to work out in dramas. She is cute!

    It’s a fun watch so far, pretty fast-paced and hopefully the plot will soon move forward from the first stage of the hero’s journey.

    Like

    • Same, I first thought I would skip their part, but I ended up wanting more! They are cute, ok?! ><
      Xiaofan is such a sad character and I want to root for him too! But his attitude toward life, love and learning just doesn't deserve much rooting… It is depressing to see someone not learn at all during five years! I can nearly understand why people are laughing at him. Good thing that we are guaranteed to see him improve! For Yang Zi, yes, she definitely needs to explain WHY she looks so arrogant. Like there must be a back story that explains her disdain toward others… I wanted to root for TYX+LYF but that pairing will probably not work. Sad that she had a sudden change of heart by episode 5.
      Since it is still really good, let's all keep watching 8D

      Liked by 1 person

  8. maoh says:

    I have only seen the first four episodes, but I like it.
    LYF: I haven’t seen any of his other dramas but he is not the best actor so far. He does this “I am thinking/I don’t know what to do” face that really comes off weird. That being said I think he will get better as the drama moves along (I hope). So far he is better than WC in Legend of Zu so at least that is a plus.
    YanZi: I agree that she just comes off angry. She just looks like she is angry/annoyed at everyone. Hard to connect with her character so far. I wish her facial expressions would vary a little. So far I would like her to become a couple with the guy that is pursuing her.
    Teacher: I really like his teacher even him being mean and angry. I think it is understandable his frustration with Xiaofan since he seems unable to do learn after five years. Also Xiaofan is a frustrating character, he constantly doesn’t know what to do. I do think the fact that he such a slow learner is because both his teachers taught him opposing techniques so he has a hard time connecting them into one.
    Tang Yixing: One of my favorite characters so far.
    ZLY: She has no problems pulling off her character. I think she is one of the funniest characters and she adds a lot to the show.

    The monkey is so unnecessary, it feels like they just want a Tang Bao. Loving the soundtrack.

    Like

    • Yeah another watcher! 8D Li Yifeng is known as an average actor with great look xD I always thought he has the lost puppy look so I find him ok acting wise. However, the character right now is just plain boring. Hopefully, as you said, he gets better and we get a lot more interesting character development. Same, I think he is doing better than whatever William did in LofZ xD
      For Yang Zi, I am honestly just waiting for the moment she softens her expressions… Same coupling in mind 😉
      Xiaofan’s teacher obviously doesn’t want to harm him, but his teaching technique is just wrong.. *shakes head*
      Loving Zhao Liying and Tang Yixing too!
      haha, yes, I want Tang Bao please! Not that (ugly) monkey :3 I like the opening song the most, so wuxia/xianxia like!

      Like

      • maoh says:

        I am up to date and it is getting interesting. I really think LYF’s character will get better as he gets out his current goofy persona. I also don’t know why they keep doing close ups of his face whenever YangZi’s character is around. It doesnt fit the narrative that he likes Tang Yixing. The monkey gets more and more out of place, but I feel like he is just there to be a true friend to Xiaofan. Xiaofan needs someone that will listen to him without judging him. I am really looking forward to the next episodes.

        Like

      • Same, the episode 6’s kitchen scene gave me hope that he is ready to stand up for himself. As we are moving into the school’s annual competition, I hope Zhang Xiaofan can show off a bit of skills and move on from his loser self. xD
        Exactlty! Especially considering half of Lu Xueqi’s facial expressions make her look unhappy. If it jealousy, it is a bit early in the drama (when her and Xiaofan didn’t even talk yet..)
        Haha, wish the monkey can speak! I think episodes should come out tomorrow ^^

        Like

  9. Pooh says:

    When I watched senior sist I just think she is a bad girl from prime minister yess she is “Ah Bi”..😁😁..ZLY look amazing & beautiful as usual..I never watched LYF drama or movie before so this is the first time I watched him but I think his expression too dummy and flat..I have watch mystic nine but no sub and being curious what Ba Ye said to Fo Ye which made Fo Ye think about Xin Yue (i just watched that part and skip other part)..

    Like

    • Haha, I really hated the character of Ah Bi in Legend of Luzhen, but I also think she is so pretty. Wish she can chose roles where she doesn’t have to be so annoying 😦
      For Mystic Nine: Ba Ye was talking about going out of the cave and who is waiting for them. Awwn, he considers her as an important person in his life now ❤

      Like

  10. Weeboofan says:

    I honestly agreed with almost everything you wrote except for the CGI. I personally found it poorly done and cringe-worthy most of the time. When i first saw the monkey i wanted to cry because of how fake it looked, even though it was cute, i was just awkward ya know?

    Like

    • Maybe it is because I was more focused on the background? I think the monkey was badly done, followed by the dragon. But in general, the scenary, as fake as they are, are strangely pleasant to the eyes for me :3

      Like

  11. aflea says:

    Honestly, my main issue is with Li Yifeng. His acting brings a lot of awkwardness into the character. For example, when Zhang Xiaofan is supposed to act cheery, bubbly and content, the way LYF expresses those emotions makes me cringe. I REALLY hope he improves and adjusts for the better because he really LACKS as a male lead. I can as far as to say that I enjoyed Wang Yuan’s interpretation MUCH more than LYF’s, like you. He had that really pure, naive, lost and pitiful aura to the character that it makes me feel for him. I enjoyed the scene where the young Xiaofan was upset that his teacher did not like him, and also the scene where he was waiting for his teacher’s reaction to his cooking and having a satisfied look afterwards. Wang Yuan portrayed those emotions so well for a newcomer. I was sad that he only had two episodes…and when LYF appeared, my feelings for this character changed not in a good way.
    Other than that, I think everyone else did a decent to good job. I didn’t have much of an issue with Yang Zi portraying a stone cold image. I think she didn’t do too bad. Like, she wasn’t trying hard. It was natural enough for me.
    Oh my god, when Zhao Liying appeared for the 1st time, she really had that aura indicating something like, “move aside, everyone! I’m here to save the day and show you all how acting and being charismatic should be like!” hahaha

    Apart from acting, I think the pacing was really good. It’s not moving slow which is something I really like. I really dislike cdramas’ pacing because they’re normally very slow, which frustrates me to no end. The plot development is going well. I love the tone of the drama. It makes it really watchable, unlike some crappy xianxia dramas like Yun Zhi Fan. As for the CGI, I feel like it is quite good for a xianxia drama. CGI in cdramas in general does suck, but this one is above the typical standards for xianxia dramas. Seriously, can you guys name any xianxia dramas with better CGI than this one? The fighting choreography is not bad either. Quite exciting actually.

    Like

    • I always thought Li Yifeng was a fair, but not exceptional idol actor. Here, it definitely feels like he is lacking skills to make us at least fall in love with his Zhang Xiaofan. Being a bad student is not a crime and should easily get the sympathy of the watcher, but his lack of effort and his expressions often come out looking annoying. It is maybe what the script gave him, but he definitely did not improve from there.
      Haha, I have a new found love for Wang Yuan. Although not a fan of the TFboys, his depiction was cute and not annoying at all. The scene where he was sad over his teacher’s discrimination felt genuine well as LYF’s is like “yeah, but what can I do?”
      Right now, I put Yang Zi in the same category as Li Yifeng, aka not able to embody the character enough for me to like them.
      Haha, yes! ❤ Zhao Liying be like, this is such an easy role to nail! That confidence in Bi Yao was perfect.
      Yeah, definitely! The CGI, the pacing, etc are on point (the pacing a bit fast than I am used to but it is an improvement from previous dramas). Yeah fighting+CGI, this one wins. Although, I do like the freshness of Hua Qian Gu a bit more.

      Like

  12. I can’t say anything about Li Yi Feng,yet, this characters is silly but he’s not as much annoying as it can to be. But, his character has long way to be developed. Tang Yixin is such a energizer, I liked her character a lot and ship them with Xiaofan too. They so adorable and cute together, and I felt really sad during the dramatic scene in kitchen. Poor Xiaofan.

    Yang Zhi’s scenes with Qin Junjie are funny, I liked their chemistry but itself Yang Zhi’s character is too boring.

    Bi Yao is like Qiangu in 20, light-headed phase of teens had gone, she passed puberty lol well I don’t know what to say els cause she showed up not to often in this 6 episodes (and I just start 7 ) but I’m not doubt in her.

    Like

    • I watched this week’s episodes and it is getting a bit boring. Even with Liying’s small scenes here and there. Because I felt it was unfair how suddenly Xiaofan suddenly became powerful thanks to his magic weapon. It is like if at the Olympics, someone who never really improved his physical skills suddenly got a free ticket to Rio and ate a magic drug that gave him all the power in the world. Not a fan of gaining power without working for it. Also, his low self esteem is a serious turn off. I still like Xiaofan and want him to do well, but it is getting hard to root for him.
      Tang Yixin is doing great in the drama, although her “I am in love” voice is a bit annoying too…
      That kitchen scene was the highlight of the drama for me so far! If you keep watching, tell me if there is any moment as good/dramatic as that one ^^
      Yes, Yang Zi needs some more character development! Liying is as good as ever, but this role is definitely not ground breaking v_v

      Like

      • I don’t know how long I’m going to watch it because it neither boring neither interesting, I mean there is actually something going but because of lack of tension I skip some parts in drama. It’s disappointing, because trailer made me expect more than I decided. However,I’m definitely watching it because of Liying. If she weren’t there I wouldn’t wast time on it;story have low dynamics and low drama. Yes, I don’t like the fact that he gain power through the magic wand and not hard work like heroes usually do.But, I hope that upcoming episodes will bring more dynamics.

        Like

      • Exactly, just like its title, it is a really “noble” drama. It is his aspiration to become better and understand the world. Hua Qian Gu captivated me with a lovely female lead whom people can relate to and had amazingly written script. Zhu Xian is a great effort drama, but nothing that I had never seen before. Hopefully! I would hate to see such a good cast and budget go to waste because the story is not attaching enough…

        Like

Leave a comment